More Toyota Trickery (Extended Warranty)

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 09:27 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default More Toyota Trickery (Extended Warranty)

Well, it really looks like my $1,400 Extended Platinum Warranty is really just platinum colored BS.

2 weeks after I was told that the sun visor flopping down in my face while driving would not be covered, because it is a "Trim Piece", I took a deep breath and asked about another issue.

Today, the very same mental midget told me that my warped front rotors are also not covered because they are a "wear item". Sorry dude. I was a Volvo Dealer Technician back in the day when the new S40's were eating rotors. With normal pad wear and no sign of abuse, the rotors were replaced, with a better design, 100% under warranty. These people have proven themselves over and over again to be crooks, and liars.

Well, the way I see it Toyota has an agreement with the state of California to cover the hybrid powertrain for 10 years or 150,000 miles. So I'm covered by state law for anything really big that might break. Beyond that, everything else they seem to wiggle out of. As far as I'm concerned, the extended warranty is a complete and total ripoff.

The good news is, it is fairly easy to cancel. With a written request, they will refund a pro-rated amount immediately.

The guy was so cavalier about it, I had to ask if anyone at Toyota even cared why a customer was canceling this... he never answered me except to give me the mailing address.

Off to the post office...

Old 09-25-2009, 10:29 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: More Toyota Trickery (Extended Warranty)

Unfortunately rotors are a wear item as they stated. I have never seen an extended warranty that covers them and I was a Service writer and Manager for 20 years with Oldsmobile.
Most brake repair places will try to sell rotors whether you need them or not because it is quicker and more profitable than resurfacing them.

Old 09-25-2009, 10:48 AM