New Hybrid owner.....Some initial observations....

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 10:48 AM
Enthusiast
Default New Hybrid owner.....Some initial observations....

I'm a proud new owner of a titanium TCH. it is barely two days old (in my possession at least), and I'm loving the driving experience.

My observations from this car:

1. It is easy to become obsessed with the ICE turning on and off and trying to not use a spot of gasoline whenever you can.

2. It's easier to get the HSD to work after the car has warmed up a bit. It seems when I'm just starting out, the ICE wants to run most of the time with the exception being stopped at intersections and the like.

3. I pay attention a lot more about how I drive than I ever have.

4. My girlfriend believes I'm obsessed about the the FE on this car. She and I went to lunch today and it was let's say interesting. She made me change the display screen so I couldn't see what was powering the car.

5. I bought the car because it was luxurious and plush and loaded with features I've never had before. It screams luxary to me and is in a class different than anything I've ever owned. THe HSD was just an added bonus over the XLE.

6. When gas hit $3.05 this week, I smiled.

7. THe learning curve is steep.

I'm looking for tips and input on how to get the most FE out of my new TCH. There are some good things on this site. I do have a question, though.

Have you found it normal for the ICE to kick on from dead stops at intersections to get the car up to speed?

THanks.

Old 06-29-2006, 11:10 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: New Hybrid owner.....Some initial observations....

Originally Posted by ohioTCHguy
I'm a proud new owner of a titanium TCH. it is barely two days old (in my possession at least), and I'm loving the driving experience.

My observations from this car:

1. It is easy to become obsessed with the ICE turning on and off and trying to not use a spot of gasoline whenever you can.