Pet Peeves (some more significant than others)

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 09:16 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Pet Peeves (some more significant than others)

Originally Posted by ddoug
Okay. Am I the only one that finds the Navigation system lacking?
1. The routing is frequently questionable at best. Even when the 3 routes are reviewed, none is even close to the best way to go (unlike my Garmin).
2. Might be my southern accent, but the voice recognition system frequently does to get my drift, even when repeated numerous times.
3. The ETE is very eratic and sometimes well in excess of the time to get somewhere.
4. Even if it won't let me, the driver, operate it when the vehicle is moving, it shoud detect and allow the passenger to operate it. Actually it should allow the driver to operate it--as a pilot I can operate the GPS in an aircraft all the time, even when it is moving!
5. Why cant the voice recognition system do something like assume the destination is in the city you are in an give you the capability to change city/state if needed, instead of always requiring you to input State, City, Street, Number. This is painful, especially when it doesn't recognize your commands.

Guess that is enough for now.
I agree with all of your comments except number 1 since I don't have something else to compare to. Although, my girlfriend did just get a TomTom.

Also, with respect to 4 and 5, see the following thread: https://www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/...ad.php?t=12899

Mike

Old 04-07-2007, 07:37 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ddoug
Okay. Am I the only one that finds the Navigation system lacking?
1. The routing is frequently questionable at best. Even when the 3 routes are reviewed, none is even close to the best way to go (unlike my Garmin).
2. Might be my southern accent, but the voice recognition system frequently does to get my drift, even when repeated numerous times.