TCH - seems like a bargain....

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2006, 07:01 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default TCH - seems like a bargain....

My mom totalled her Lexus ES-300 last month and was looking for a new ride. She drove a 2007 Camry XLE and really liked it. Only problem was nobody had one in our area with the options she wanted in a color she liked and she needed it very quickly. Since the dealer she went to was pulling typical dealer BS since she was a woman by herself shopping for a car (they wouldn't even do a search without a $500 deposit!) she walked out. I took her to a dealer not too far from me and we got much better treatment...shocker I know. The salesman asked if she was interested in a Hybrid which, even as a Hybrid driver myself, I didn't think would benefit her that much to offset the cost. They didn't have anything in their inventory and couldn't find anything nearby that had her options either....she wanted the NAV and apparently they either don't make many or they sell fast. She also wanted leather and the "smart key". The salesman asked again about the Hybrid as they just got one off the truck that day that had everything she wanted (no, it wasn't a line because it was at their old location where Toyota still delivers their vehicles for some reason). He claimed it would cost less than the XLE which I found hard to believe. The XLE with her 3 options stickered at $30,700. The Hybrid with Nav also had the smart key and leather and stickered for $30,600 (give or take a couple bucks). Of course, they wouldn't sell the Hybrid for a dollar under sticker, not that my mom was helping with the negotiations by telling the dealer things like "I really like it" and "I need something today"....but I don't think people are getting much in the way of discounts on them anyway. So, even if she could have gotten a discount on the XLE, I don't know how much....$2000 tops I would think for a 2007....right?